Leave a comment

Intermittent Fasting day 4


I have been gone for quite a while. My diet has not been going well and I’m at the highest weight I have ever been. It’s been so long, I can’t remember why I stopped eating a ketogenic diet. It must have been unsustainable in some way, but I don’t remember why.

I really need to make a change and get my weight under control.

I started something called intermittent fasting on Monday. I read about this technique years ago, but never wanted to do this. The premise that after not eating for a certain length of time will allow the body to use excess fat as fuel is very interesting and appealing to me.

This is only my 4th day following this protocol. I’m eating during an 8 hour window and then fasting for 16 hours. The fasting part includes when I’m sleeping. There are different ways to do intermittent fasting. This way seems more sustainable to me because it’s the same routine every day. This means less to keep track of which is better for me.

I stopped eating last night around 7:15pm. I started eating today around 11:30am. I slept well last night which really helps. I didn’t sleep well Tuesday night and ended up getting up at 3:30am. Wednesday was a really hard day for eating and concentrating. I stuck to the plan, but it wasn’t easy.

My sleep has been crappy for years. I’m not sure if intermittent fasting will help.

So far today I have eaten 1 protein bar, 2 scoops of tuna salad (tuna, mayo, hardboiled egg). I’m not quite ready to start measuring out my food and calculating daily calories. I’m concentrating on completing the correct timing of fasting vs. eating. I also haven’t stepped on a scale. I’m going to look for changes in my face and how my clothes fit.

Has anyone tried intermittent fasting? If so, what was your experience?

Leave a Reply

